Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Read More


At Dakota State our student-athletes have a long and rich athletic history, distinguishing themselves in the classroom and in athletic competition.

Successful collegiate athletic programs function as a critical recruiting tool and dramatically enhance the visibility, image, and brand of their university. The recruitment of student-athletes is highly competitive and driven by scholarships. In donating to athletics, you can have your gift assigned to support a student-athlete in a specific sport or designate it for the greatest scholarship needs.

Donations to DSU athletic scholarships ensure that Trojan athletic teams will be better positioned to build on past successes and represent Dakota State for years to come.

The 1973 Trojan football team was the first team to go undefeated in what was then the SDIC conference and earn a conference championship. The team included several All-American players including Jeff Rodman, Toney Blanks, and Darwin Robinson. Dakota State football had a tradition of winning starting in 1971, when they capped their season as the Boot-Hill Bowl champions. This scholarship is being established so that quality athletes can be recruited and DSU can reignite the winning tradition that was established by the Trojan football teams of the early 1970’s.

Dr. Dittman began teaching and coaching at Dakota State in the fall of 1978 and during her tenure, she has taught, coached basketball, softball, track, and was the Director of Athletics from 1985-1996 and 1999-2000, and served as Dean of the College of Education. Dr. Dittman was the Vice President of Academic Affairs prior to retirement in 2017. This annual scholarship is awarded to a women’s basketball student athlete.

These scholarships are supported by donors to the Trojan Athletic Club and awarded to student athletes participating in baseball, football, men’s basketball, men’s cross-country, men’s track, softball, volleyball, women’s basketball, women’s cross country, and women’s track.

This scholarship was established by Hali McClelland to assist in the recruitment of quality women basketball players. As member of the DSU Women’s Basketball team from 200-2004, Hali currently holds a number of career and single-game/season records, including eighth in career points (1,189), sixth in career rebounds (667), seventh in career blocks (88) and fourth in career free throw percentage (75.3%). Her senior season, Hali garnered DSU Female Athlete of the Year honors. Hali currently works in finance in New York City and serves on the DSU Foundation Board of Trustees.

Mike and Tammy Miller of Madison established this scholarship in 2010. Mike, ’78, is the Safety Director for B&G Transportation in Madison. He played baseball for four years for Dakota State and has coached baseball at all levels from Little League to high school in Madison. Tammy, ’87, is the CEO of Madison Regional Health and serves on the DSU Foundation Board of Trustees. Their scholarship is awarded to a South Dakota resident who plays baseball at DSU and maintains eligibility in accordance with NAIA and DSU academic standards.

This annual scholarship was established on October 3, 2016, in memory of Roger A. Reed. Roger was born Sept. 18, 1944, in Wichita, KS, to Jewell and Una (Brown) Reed. He graduated from Wichita West High School and then attended Oklahoma Baptist University (OBU), receiving a bachelor's degree. While at OBU, he met the love of his life, Anna Joy Benton, and they were married on July 1, 1967, in Independence, KS. He went on to receive his master's degree at Wichita State University. They moved to Madison, SD, in 1969, where he became a professor at General Beadle State College (now Dakota State University). He received his PhD in Sociology from South Dakota State University in 1980. He retired from full-time teaching in 2005, retired again from part-time teaching in 2015, and continued as an active supporter and volunteer with Dakota State Trojan Athletics.  He was an active member of West Center Baptist Church, a founding member of the ECCO Board, a member of the Madison Kiwanis Club, and a past member of the North American Baptist Seminary Board (Sioux Falls Seminary). This scholarship is to be awarded in Roger’s memory to a DSU student-athlete participating in Cru.

This annual scholarship established in 2011, recognizes Madison native, businessman, and long-time Dakota State University supporter, Pat Regan. Patrick “Pat” Regan passed away in 2011 and bequeathed money to DSU for athletic scholarships. Pat was known for his enthusiasm for Dakota State University, especially DSU sports. This scholarship is awarded to a DSU athlete participating in men’s basketball, volleyball, baseball, football, softball, or women’s basketball.

This annual scholarship was established in support of women’s basketball.  Terry and Lynn began work at DSU in 1975. Terry was awarded Vice President/Dean of Students Emeritus and Instructor Emeritus of Mathematics status upon his retirement in 2003. Lynn retired in 2010 as an assistant professor in the College of Arts and Sciences for English, Spanish, and French.  Terry and Lynn have established this annual scholarship with the belief that successful student-athletes must learn skills that will last them a lifetime.  These skills include hard work, teamwork, sportsmanship, and the ability to demonstrate class in winning and losing.

Randy and Theresa Schaefer of Madison established this scholarship in 2010. Randy, ’84, owns State Farm Insurance in Madison. Randy serves on the South Dakota Board of Regents, and the DSU Foundation Board of Trustees. Theresa, ’89, is the Benefits Administrator at Heartland Consumers Power District. The scholarship is awarded to a men’s and women’s basketball player who maintains eligibility in accordance with NAIA and DSU academic standards.

This annual scholarship was established in 2012 by Karl and LaDonna Schulz. Karl and LaDonna graduated from General Beadle State College in 1960 with degrees in education. Karl played football for four years at GBSC and LaDonna was a cheerleader. They both dedicated their career to education. This scholarship is awarded to an NAIA eligible member of the DSU football team.  Preference is given to students from Deubrook High School.

This scholarship was established for a student-athlete in football or women's cross country, who are enrolled in summer classes. Scholarship is to be at least $1000-with financial need, doing well academically.