Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

2020 Longevity Reception celebrated at DSU

December 2, 2020

Judy Dittman portrait

Dr. Judy Dittman was one of eight retirees honored at DSU’s Longevity Reception. Dittman worked at DSU for 41 years in a variety of positions.

Dakota State recognized 38 employees and 8 retirees for a combined 738 years of service to the state of South Dakota at a reception Monday, Nov. 30. The event had been postponed since May due to COVID, and was held in a hybrid format.

Longevity awards are given to 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, and 35+ year employees. This year the group’s 738 years of service averages out to 16.04 years per person.

Employees recognized for five years of service were Kandy Lurz, Jane Utecht, Suraj Mahat, Andrew Kramer, Insu Park, William Sewell, Jody Bossman, Ryan Burdge, Scott Morstad, Jacquelyn Smith, and Mandi Stegenga.

Employees recognized for 10 years of service were Michael Ham, Andrew Schaefers, Wade Merry, David Miller, Amber Schmidt, Jordan Schuh, and Amy Townsend.

Employees recognized for 15 years of service were Ashley Podhradsky, Kelly Greene, Paula Jensen, Chris Olson, Jennifer Nash, Janelle Nielsen, Kristen Uilk, and Scott Richardson.

Employees recognized for 20 years of service were Stephanie Baatz, Paul Ersland, Susan Conover, Karen Gearhart, Sara Hare, Barbara Myers, Kristi Voss, Melinda Fedeler, Tom Halverson, Wayne Pauli, and Deb Tech.

Susan Langner was recognized for 30 years of service and Ellen Hoff was recognized for 35 years of service.

Additionally, eight retirees were recognized for their years of service.

  • Susan Conover with the College of Arts & Sciences was recognized for her 20 years of service.
  • John Nelson with the College of Arts & Sciences was recognized for 23 years of service.
  • Carla Sudenga, senior secretary of Athletics, was recognized for 36 years of service.
  • Steve Bartel, assistant dean of Student Affairs, was recognized for 39 years of service.
  • Judy Dittman, who held over 16 different positions at DSU throughout her career, was recognized for 41 years of service.
  • Brian Benson, building maintenance specialist, was recognized for 27 years of service.
  • Pat Kreul, a document imager, was recognized for eight years of service.
  • John McNary, information technology specialist, was recognized for 34 years of service.

Contact Us

Jennifer Burris
Strategic Communications Coordinator
(605) 270-3816

Email Us