Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Sterling named to DSU Academic Hall of Fame

April 5, 2023

Dr. Vicki Sterling has been named to the Dakota State University Hall of Fame for her innovation, research, and creativity in teaching literacy at DSU.

“Dr. Sterling has truly impacted the future by touching thousands of lives, due to the ripple effect education has,” said Kindra Schneider, a former student of Sterling’s and current instructor in the College of Education. She called Sterling a “phenomenal professor.”

Jennifer Nash, associate professor in the College of Education, said Sterling “transformed DSU’s Education programs.” For example, she was instrumental in pursuing and solidifying partnerships with K-12 schools. “Although we take these existing partnerships for granted, this collaborative work was ground-breaking at the time,” Nash said.

Sterling researched the impact of technology on student writing and provided training to integrate technology into literacy learning.  She also founded the first South Dakota Literacy Day.

Sterling shared her passion and expertise at state conferences, presenting on the topics of reading, language arts, social studies, and computer software. She also took her knowledge around the globe, through her membership in the International Reading Association (IRA). She also traveled to Shangai, China in 2007 to teach reading and language arts methods to approximately 200 teachers. She accompanied students on spring break trips to volunteer and teach at a school in Belize; in 2016 the group donated 1,100 pounds of books to the school.

On campus, Sterling was well respected by her students. “She truly cared about preparing her students to be successful teachers,” and “painted a picture of what professionalism looked like,” Schneider stated. Sterling gained her peers’ respect, earning the 2007 DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service, and the 2011 Ernest M. Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching.

“She definitely played a major role in her 35 years in the College of Education,” said Shelly Rawstern, Assessment Coordinator, and “she had made a great impact on many.”

The April 4 event can be viewed here https://dsu.zoom.us/j/95499301349.

Dakota State University Academic Hall of Fame induction is held annually during the spring semester to celebrate the research and creative work produced by DSU faculty, staff, students, and alumni. Past honorees include Clyde Brashier, Zeno Van Erdewyk, Ruth Habeger, Risë Smith, and Eric Johnson.

Contact Us

Jane Utecht
Strategic Communications Coordinator
(605) 270-3816

Email Us