Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Dittman named DSU Philanthropist of the Year

January 21, 2018

The Dakota State University Foundation has named Dr. Judy Dittman the 2017 Philanthropist of the Year. The award will be presented during the 30th annual DSU Gala, held February 9 at the Best Western Ramkota in Sioux Falls.

Dittman is the associate provost and vice president for academic affairs, and Title III director. She began at DSU in the fall of 1978 as an assistant professor in health and physical education and was head women's basketball coach. Since that time, Dittman has served as director of athletics, director of the DSU Wellness Center, dean for the College of Education and provost. She is currently the director for the Title III Department of Education grant and is a full professor in the College of Education.

Established in 2006, the Philanthropist of the Year acknowledges donors who demonstrate an exceptional commitment to the vision and values of the university by making a significant personal contribution of time, talent and resources to DSU. In addition to her contributions in the classroom and to athletics, Dittman has made a series of generous donations to DSU, aiding students in financial need, and enriching the university's athletic and education programs.

Past recipients of the Philanthropists of the Year include: Cecelia Wittmayer and Norman Andenas, Walter A. Canney, Miles and Lisa Beacom, Maury and Alice Poppen, Doug and Sharon Knowlton, Wayne and Crystal Pauli, Karl and LaDonna Schulz, Mike Heinemann and Greg Heinemann, Gene and Margie Phillips, Glen and Caren Straatmeyer, DeLon Mork, Joyce and Clair Welbon, and Dan Kern.

The Dakota State University Foundation, established in 1970, promotes, encourages and advances the university's mission, academic programs and co-curricular opportunities for its students.

For more information on the DSU Gala, call the DSU Foundation at 605-256-5693, or go to DSU.edu/gala.