Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

DSU announces INSuRE Scholarship Recipients

February 9, 2016

Dakota State University in Madison, S.D. announces 15 undergraduate students have received a scholarship under a granted awarded to DSU from the National Security Agency. The scholarship award is $5000 ($2500 each semester). The expected responsibilities of the scholarship recipients include, but are not limited to, conducting independent as well as group study and research on selected cyber security research projects, participating in INSuRE weekly meetings, attending the required training,  and maintaining high academic performance.

Scholarship recipients will have the opportunity to work with faculty from several institutions on challenging, real world cyber security research projects.  In addition, they will work with Technical Directors from the National Security Agency as well as many National Security Laboratories.

These students will be under the direction of Dr. Yong Wang, Dr. Tom Halverson, Michael Ham, Joshua Stroschein, and Dr. Wayne E. Pauli.  All are faculty within the College of Computing at DSU.

Recipients include:

Jovana Bogdanovic - Cyber Operations

Evan Bolt - Cyber Operations - Edgerton, Minn.

Daniel Burwitz - Cyber Operations

Austin Domine -Computer Science - Oakes, N.D.

Jacob Hagle - Cyber Operations - Sioux Falls, S.D.

Joshua Klosterman - Network Security Admin - Brandon, S.D.

Joshua Lutgen - Cyber Operations - White, S.D.

Sidney Moorhead - Network Security Admin - Warroad, Minn.

Stephanie Plucker - Network Security Admin - Parker, S.D.

Jennifer Schulte - Cyber Operations - Watertown, S.D.

Michael Shlanta -  Cyber Operations - Sioux Falls, S.D.

Elliott Shoup-Owens - Network Security Admin - Fort Pierre, S.D.

Trent Steen - Computer Science - Emery, S.D.

Michael Turbes - Network Security Admin - Sioux Falls, S.D.

Caleb VanGerpen - Computer Science - Avon, S.D.