Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Restructuring the college of business and information systems

May 5, 2015

Dakota State University has requested approval from the SD Board of Regents to restructure the College of Business and Information Systems (BIS). The new structure will consist of two colleges: College of Business and Information Systems and College of Computing, in addition to the current College of Arts and Sciences and College of Education.

The process which started in September of 2014 as requested by the faculty in the College of BIS was led by a task force which included faculty, staff, students and administration. The task force reviewed the current structure of the College of BIS and identified changes to enhance the educational experience for undergraduate and graduate students, support research opportunities for faculty and nurture current and initiate new external partnerships. Recommendations were then made based on information gathered through an environmental scan of structures at other institutions as well as interviews with students, faculty, staff, alumni, and external stakeholders that assessed current operations and future opportunities.

After reviewing the final report submitted by the task force, University administration endorsed a two college recommendation with five administrative department chairs in the areas of Business, Health and Information Management (HIM), Information Systems, Computer Science/Game Design, and Cyber Operations/Network Security. The College of BIS will consist of degrees in Health and Information Management, Business and Information Systems while the College of Computing will house degrees in Computer Science, Game Design, Cyber Operations and Cyber Security. Department chairs will be selected by end of May 2015 with Deans selected by spring 2016.