Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

National Society of leadership and success inducts 26 members

May 5, 2017

The Dakota State University Chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) recently held its fifth induction ceremony, adding 26 DSU students to the local group’s membership.

NSLS is one of the nation's largest leadership honor societies.  Students are invited to become members based on academic standing, and candidacy is a nationally recognized achievement of honorable distinction.

“You should be very proud” to have been chosen for induction, said keynote speaker Tyler Ruhd, business development director at Infotech Solutions in Madison. “This shows you have the ability to be leaders and to develop the next set of leaders.”

Inducted members complete about 10 hours of leadership program training, said Mandy Parpart, chapter advisor, which includes an orientation, a leadership training day, three speaker broadcasts, three success networking team meetings, and culminates in the induction ceremony where the students receive their Certificate of Leadership Training. The process is “an investment in themselves and their future,” she added.  

Membership is for a lifetime and provides access to benefits including scholarships and awards, exclusive on-campus events, employer recruitment through an online job bank, discounts on computers, textbooks, grad school prep courses, insurance, and more.

With the addition of this induction class, the Dakota State University Society Chapter now consists of almost 200 students, along with several other members who are working towards their induction. Students are invited to join each semester. 

“I’m very proud of our members. The society has had a significant impact on our campus, inspiring our students to become better leaders, and helping them build a better future for themselves, the campus, and their respective communities,” said Parpart.

Newly inducted members (and their majors) include: Samantha Algood (English education), Brianna Allen (computer science), Preston Allen (computer science), Trace Beethe (cyber operations), Alison Bodewitz (professional accountancy), Josh Carlon (computer science), Kelley Criddle (network security), Cullen Davis (computer science), Paige Elsasser (elementary education), Andrew Fiegen (elementary education), Christopher Glanzer (cyber operations), Quinton Halliday (computer game design), Michaela Jackson (elementary education/special education), Kayla Janssen (elementary education), Kyle Jepsen (cyber operations), Alexis Kortan (elementary education), Isaiah Kruger (computer science), Garrett Lambert (information systems), Darby Neal (management), Joshua Potrzeba (network security administration), Logan Roering (cyber operations), Tatum Ronke (elementary education/special education), Jerricka Thompson (elementary education/special education), Regina Van Driel (cyber operations/network security), Brendan Wilson (computer game design) and Lauren Yerigan (film and cinematic arts).