Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Faculty honored at annual banquet

April 17, 2019

Four Dakota State University faculty members received awards at the annual Honors Banquet on April 15.

Dr. David Bishop was presented with the Alexander “Sandy” Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising. Bishop is an associate professor in the College of Business and Information Systems. The award is sponsored by Davidson’s children, Scott and Jenny Weatherill and Brian and Barb Harmdierks. It remembers Davidson’s work as Dean of Students and Director of Counseling. He retired from Dakota State in 1985 but remained active on campus and in the community, until he passed away in 2006.

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Dr. Cherie Noteboom, associate professor in the College of Business and Information Systems. The Hunter family sponsors the award to honor Merrill, long-time Madison newspaper publisher, veteran, and former president of the DSU Foundation.

Dr. Deb Tech, associate professor in the College of Business and Information Systems, was honored with the DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service. Mork was a long-time Madison businessman, philanthropist and community leader. He and his son DeLon were awarded the South Dakota Retailer of the year award in 2004 for the family-run Dairy Queen.

The Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Ms. Angela Behrends, assistant professor in the College of Arts and Sciences. The award honors Teagarden, a professor emeritus of business at DSU; it is sponsored by College of Education Dean Dr. Crystal Pauli.