Campus building and landscape with daffodils in the foreground.

Is DSU the right fit for you?

Our website can tell you only so much about our beautiful campus and innovative programs. The best way to find out if DSU is right for you is to see for yourself!

Visit Our Campus

Four DSU faculty honored at annual banquet

April 20, 2018

Four Dakota State University faculty members received awards at the annual Honors Banquet April 16.

Dr. Gabe Mydland was presented with the Alexander “Sandy” Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising. The award, sponsored by Scott and Jenny Weatherill and Brian and Barb Harmdierks, recognizes Davidson’s years of service as Dean of Students and Director of Counseling at DSU. Mydland is an associate professor in the College of Education.

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Dr. Ashley Podhradsky. The Hunter family sponsors the award to honor Merrill, a long-time Madison newspaper publisher, veteran and former president of the DSU Foundation. Podhradsky is an associate professor in the Beacom College of Computer and Cyber Sciences.

Dr. Pam Rowland, assistant professor in the Beacom College of Computer and Cyber Sciences, was honored with the DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service. Mork was a long-time Madison businessman, philanthropist and community leader. He was the South Dakota Retailer of the year in 2004.

The Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Dr. Kevin Smith, assistant professor in the College of Education. Sponsored by College of Education Dean Dr. Crystal Pauli, the award honors Teagarden, a professor emeritus of business at DSU.