Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Wittmayer and Andenas 2016 Philanthropists of the Year

May 2, 2016

The Dakota State University Foundation recognized Cecelia Wittmayer and her husband, Norman Andenas, as 2016 Philanthropists of the Year during the annual DSU Gala on Saturday.

Wittmayer retired from Dakota State in 2014 after serving as a member of the faculty and as the vice president for academic affairs. Andenas farms near Howard. Wittmayer and Andenas have made a series of generous donations to DSU, aiding students in financial need, and enriching the University’s education and athletics programs. Most recently, she established the Dr. Cecelia Wittmayer Endowed Scholarship to support women majoring in business administration.

Established in 2006, the award acknowledges donors who demonstrate an exceptional commitment to the vision and values of the university by making significant personal contribution, - of time, talent, and resources to DSU.

Past recipients of the Philanthropists of the Year include, Walter A. Canney, Miles and Lisa Beacom, Maury and Alice Poppen, Doug and Sharon Knowlton, Wayne and Crystal Pauli, Karl and LaDonna Schulz, Mike Heinemann and Greg Heinemann, Gene and Margie Phillips, Glen and Caren Straatmeyer, DeLon Mork, Joyce and Clair Welbon, and Dan Kern.

The Dakota State University Foundation, established in 1970, promotes, encourages and advances the university’s mission, academic programs and co-curricular opportunities for its students.