Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Shared Governance Committee Charter


At Dakota State University (DSU), shared governance is shared decision-making based on the principles of partnership, equity, accountability, and ownership at the point of service. Shared leadership facilitates the decision-making process, information sharing, and transparency. DSU leadership, faculty, and staff are committed to the notion of shared governance. DSU has a solid shared governance structure reflected in the workings of the General Faculty, an array of committees dealing with multiple facets of academic issues, as well as faculty representations on various committees.

Further supporting shared governance and strengthening the culture of meaningful engagement, DSU’s Shared Governance Committee provides leadership to facilitate shared decision-making and information sharing, provides transparency, and creates partnership and equity amongst more university participants. The committee is to provide consultation to campus units, to monitor committee infrastructure and dissemination of minutes to support shared governance, to provide additional lines of communication to foster transparency, increase the dissemination of information, and to complete any special projects assigned to the committee by the Provost. 


  • Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs (Chair, Ex Officio)

  • Vice President for Student Affairs (Ex Officio)

  • General Faculty Officer

  • Two (2) faculty members, elected by the Beacom College of Computer and Cyber Sciences*

  • Two (2) faculty members, elected by the College of Arts and Sciences*

  • Two (2) faculty members, elected by the College of Business and Information Systems*

  • Two (2) faculty members, elected by the College of Education and Human Performance*

  • One (1) faculty member, appointed by the Provost

  • Two (2) staff members, elected by the NFE Council

  • Two (2) staff members, elected by the CSA Council

*Faculty members may not serve on both the Faculty Advisory Committee and Shared Governance Committee simultaneously


Per the Policy on Committees.


Per the Policy on Committees.


Adopted: 12/18/2023