Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Award Winning Faculty

April 24, 2024

Several Dakota State University faculty members received awards at the annual Honors Reception on April 18.

Alexander “Sandy” Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising & Mentorship

 Dr. Andrew Sathoff, Assistant Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences, was named the Alexander “Sandy” Davidson Award winner for Excellence in Advising & Mentorship.  

Dakota State’s faculty award winners for the 2022-2023 academic year include: Dr. Katie Anderson (left), Dr. Cherie Noteboom, and Dr. Andrew Sathoff.

The award is sponsored by Davidson’s children, Scott and Jenny Weatherill and Brian and Barb Harmdierks. It remembers Davidson’s work as Dean of Students and Director of Counseling. He retired from Dakota State in 1985 but remained active on campus and in the community until he passed away in 2006.

Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Dr. Cherie Noteboom, a Professor in the College of Business & Information Systems. 

The Hunter family sponsors the award to honor Merrill, long-time Madison newspaper publisher, veteran, and former president of the DSU Foundation. He was a serving as president of the DSU Foundation at the time of his death in 1990.

Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Dr. Katie Anderson, Assistant Professor in The College of Education.  

Dr. Rich Avery
Dr. Rich Avery was presented with the DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service.

The award honors Teagarden, a professor emeritus of business at DSU.  Teagarden served as Chair of the Social Science and Business Education Division and later of the Division of Business, Industry and Public Administration; he passed away in 2007. This award is sponsored by the DSU Foundation.

DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service

Dr. Rich Avery was honored with the DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service. He is a Professor in the College of Arts & Sciences.

Mork was a long-time Madison businessman, philanthropist, and community leader. One honor he and his son DeLon were awarded included the South Dakota Retailer of the year award in 2004 for the family-run Dairy Queen.

Outstanding Research Mentors
Outstanding Research Mentors 2023-2024
Dakota State Outstanding Research Mentors for 2023-2024 include Andrew Sathoff (left) and Andrew Kramer. Peter Britton and Robert Girtz are not pictured.  

In a new category created this year, four faculty were named Outstanding Research Mentors. These awards recognize faculty members who served as exceptional mentors to undergraduate researchers. Through their guidance, encouragement, and expertise, they have played a pivotal role in nurturing the talents and ambitions of Dakota State students.

These mentors were nominated by their students, highlighting the profound impact they have had on shaping the next generation of scholars and researchers.

Faculty nominated included: Peter Britton, Andrew Kramer, Robert Girtz, and Andrew Sathoff.

Contact Us

Jane Utecht
Strategic Communications Coordinator
(605) 270-3816

Email Us