Academic Calendar

Fall and spring terms are 16 weeks in length: The Fall term starts in late August or early September and goes through mid December.  Spring starts in early January and goes through mid-May.  Summer sessions vary in length from 4 weeks to 12 weeks, May through August, with classes typically meeting Monday through Friday.

If you are looking for a holiday and break calendar, please see the SD BOR Academic Calendar.

Fall 2017 Academic Calendar

  • Aug. 18 (Fri) - 8:00 a.m. Residence Halls open for First Year Students only
    • New Student Orientation Activities begin
  • Aug. 19-20 (Sat-Sun) - 8:00 a.m. Residence Halls open for all students
  • Aug. 21 (Mon) - 8:00 a.m. Classes begin
  • Aug. 31 (Thur) - CENSUS Day
    • Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibility
    • Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
  • Sept. 1 (Fri) - Tuition and Fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
  • Sept. 4 (Mon) - Labor Day - no classes
  • Sept. 17 (Sat) - Constitution Day
  • Sept. 29 (Fri)  - Last day to apply for Fall 2017 graduation
  • Oct. 9 (Mon) - Native American Day - no classes
  • Oct. 13 (Fri) - Last day of first half semester classes
  • Oct. 18 (Wed) - Mid-term deficiency grades due
  • Oct. 23 - Nov 10
    • (Mon-Fri) Continuing student pre-registation for Spring 2018 and Summer 2018 and Fall 2018.
  • Oct. 25 (Wed)  - Last day a student may withdraw from the university and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy.
  • Nov. 3 (Fri) - Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or school
  • Nov. 10 (Fri) - Veterans’ Day holiday observed - no classes
  • Nov. 22-26
    • (Wed-Sun) Thanksgiving holiday - no classes
    • Please note: Tuesday, November 21, evening classes will be held.
  • Nov. 27 (Mon) - Classes resume
  • Dec. 6 (Wed) - No classes
  • Dec. 7-13 (Thur-Wed) - Final examination period
  • Dec. 9 (Sat) - Commencement, Fieldhouse, 10:30 a.m.
  • Dec. 13 (Wed) - Semester ends, Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m.
  • Dec. 18 (Mon) - Final grades due

Spring 2018 Schedule

  • Jan. 6 (Sat) - 8 a.m. Residence halls open for all students
  • Jan. 8 (Mon) - 8 a.m. Classes begin
  • Jan. 15 (Mon) - Martin Luther King Jr. Day - no classes
  • Jan. 17 (Wed) - CENSUS DAY
    • Last day to register for any spring class to determine financial aid eligibility
    • Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
  • Jan. 18 (Thurs) - Tuition and fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
  • Jan. 31 (Wed) - Last day to apply for Spring 2018 and Summer 18 graduation
  • Feb. 19 (Mon) - President’s Day - no classes
  • Mar. 2 (Fri) - Last day of first half semester classes
  • Mar. 3-11 (Sat-Sun) - Spring Break
    • Residence Halls close at 5 p.m. on Friday, March 2 and reopen 8 a.m. on Sunday, March 11
  • Mar. 15 (Thurs) - Mid-term deficient grades due
  • Mar. 19-April 9 (Mon-Mon) - Tentative - Continuing student pre-registration for Fall and Summer 2018 and Spring 2019
  • Mar. 21 (Wed) - Last day a student can withdraw from the university and be eligible for a refund of university charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
  • Mar. 30-April 1 (Fri-Sun) - Easter Holiday - Please note Easter holiday begins 5:00 p.m. on March 29
  • April 2 (Mon) - Classes resume
  • April 3 (Tue) - Last day to withdraw from a full semester class or school
  • April 30-May 4 (Mon-Fri) - Final examination period; semester ends; residence halls close at 3 p.m.
  • May 5 (Sat) - Commencement, Fieldhouse, 10:30 a.m.
  • May 9 (Wed) - Final grades due

Summer 2018 Schedule

  • May 14 (Mon) - Full 12-week and first 6-week sessions begin
  • May 17 (Thur) - Census date for first 6-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a 6-week class with full refund
  • May 22 (Mon) - Census date for full 12-week session
    • Last day to add a Claus or drop a 12-week class with full refund
  • May 28 (Mon) - Memorial Day - no classes
  • May 30 (Wed) - Last day to withdraw from all first 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • June 11 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw with a “W” from first 6-week session - no refund
  • June 22 (Fri) - First 6-week session ends
    • Last day to withdraw from all full 12-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • June 25 (Mon) - Second 6-week session begins
  • June 28 (Thur) - Census date for second 6-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a class with full refund
  • July 4 (Thur) - Independence Day - no classes
  • July 11 (Wed) - Last day to withdraw with a “W” from full 12-week session - no refund
    • Last day to withdraw from all second 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • July 23 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw with a “W” for second 6-week session - no refund
  • Aug 3 (Fri) - Full 12 week and second 6-week sessions end