Academic Calendar

Fall and spring terms are 16 weeks in length: The Fall term starts in late August or early September and goes through mid December.  Spring starts in early January and goes through mid-May.  Summer sessions vary in length from 4 weeks to 12 weeks, May through August, with classes typically meeting Monday through Friday.

If you are looking for a holiday and break calendar, please see the SD BOR Academic Calendar.

Spring 2019 Schedule

  • Jan. 5 (Sat) - 8:00 a.m. Residence halls open for all students
  • Jan. 7 (Mon) - 8:00 a.m. Classes begin
  • Jan. 16 (Wed) - CENSUS DAY
    • Last day to register for any spring class to determine financial aid eligibility
    • Last day to add a full semester class; Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
  • Jan. 17 (Thurs) - Tuition and fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
  • Jan. 21 (Mon) - Martin Luther King Jr. Day - no classes
  • Jan. 30 (Wed) - Last day to apply for Spring 2019 and Summer 19 graduation
  • Feb. 18 (Mon) - President’s Day - no classes
  • Mar. 1 (Fri) - Last day of first half semester classes
  • Mar. 2-10 (Sat-Sun) - Spring Break; Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 1 and reopen 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, March 10
  • Mar. 14 (Thurs) - Mid-term deficient grades due
  • Mar. 18-April 8 (Mon-Mon) - Tentative - Continuing student pre-registration for Fall and Summer 2019 and Spring 2020
  • Mar. 20 (Wed) - Last day a student can withdraw from the university and be eligible for a refund of university charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
  • April 2 (Tue) - Last day to withdraw from a full semester class or school
  • April 19-21 (Fri-Sun) - Easter Holiday - Please note Easter holiday begins 5:00 p.m. on April 18
  • April 22 (Mon) - Classes resume
  • April 29-May 3 (Mon-Fri) - Final examination period; semester ends; residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
  • May 4 (Sat) - Commencement, Fieldhouse, 10:30 a.m.
  • May 8 (Wed) - Final grades due

Note: Dates and events are subject to change. Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper, or other means as appropriate.

Summer 2019 Schedule

  • May 13 (Mon) - Full 12-week and first 6-week sessions begin
  • May 16 (Thur) - Census date for first 6-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a 6-week class with full refund
  • May 20 (Mon) - Census date for full 12-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a 12-week class with full refund
  • May 27 (Mon) - Memorial Day - no classes
  • May 29 (Wed) - Last day to withdraw from all first 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • June 10 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw with a “W” from first 6-week session - no refund
  • June 21 (Fri) - First 6-week session ends
    • Last day to withdraw from all full 12-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • June 24 (Mon) - Second 6-week session begins
  • June 27 (Thur) - Census date for second 6-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a class with full refund
  • July 4 (Thur) - Independence Day - no classes
  • July 10 (Wed) - Last day to withdraw with a “W” from full 12-week session - no refund
    • Last day to withdraw from all second 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • July 22 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw with a “W” for second 6-week session - no refund
  • Aug 2 (Fri) - Full 12 week and second 6-week sessions end

Note: Dates and events are subject to change. Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper, or other means as appropriate.

Fall 2019 Schedule

  • Aug. 23 (Fri) - 8:00 a.m. Residence Halls open for First Year Students only
    • New Student Orientation Activities begin
  • Aug. 24-25 (Sat-Sun) - 8:00 a.m. Residence Halls open for all students
  • Aug. 26 (Mon) - 8:00 a.m. Classes begin
  • Sept. 2 (Mon) - Labor Day – no classes
  • Sept. 5 (Thur) - CENSUS DAY
    • Last day to register for any fall class to determine financial aid eligibility
    •  Last day to add a full semester class
    • Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
  • Sept. 6 (Fri) - Tuition and Fees - Deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
  • Sept. 30 (Mon) - Last day to apply for Fall 2019 graduation
  • Oct. 11 (Fri) - Last day of first half semester classes
  • Oct. 14 (Mon) - Native American Day – no classes
  • Oct. 16 (Wed) - Mid-term deficiency grades due
  • Oct. 21-Nov. 8 - Tentative dates for continuing student pre-registration for spring & fall 2020  
  • Oct. 30 (Wed) - Last day a student may withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy.
  • Nov. 8 (Fri) - Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges
  • Nov. 11 (Mon) - Veterans Day holiday observed – no classes
  • Nov. 27- Dec 1 - Thanksgiving holiday – no classes
    •     (Wed-Sun) Please note: Tuesday, Nov. 26, evening classes will be held
  • Dec. 2 (Mon) - Classes Resume
  • Dec. 11 (Wed) - No Classes
  • Dec.12-18 (Th-Wed) - Final Examination Period
  • Dec. 14 (Sat) - Commencement – Fieldhouse – 10:30 AM
  • Dec. 18 (Wed) - Semester Ends
    • Residence Halls Close – 5:00 p.m.
  • Dec. 23 (Mon) - Final grades due

Note: Dates and events are subject to change. Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper, or other means as appropriate.

Spring 2020 Schedule

  • Jan. 11 (Sat) - 8:00 a.m. Residence halls open for all students
  • Jan. 13 (Mon) - 8:00 a.m. Classes begin
  • Jan. 20 (Mon) - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – no classes
  • Jan. 22 (Wed) - CENSUS DAY
    • Last day to register for any spring class to determine financial aid eligibility
    • Last day to add a full semester class;
    • Last day to drop a full semester class and receive 100% refund
  • Jan. 23 (Thurs) - Tuition and fees - deadline for payment or payment plan to avoid cancellation of registration and late fee assessment
  • Jan. 31 (Fri) - Last day to apply for spring 2020 and summer 2020 graduation
  • Feb. 17 (Mon) - President’s Day - no classes
  • Mar. 6 (Fri) - Last day of first half semester classes
  • Mar. 7-15 (Sat-Sun) - Spring Break;
    • Residence Halls close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 6 and reopen 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, March 15
  • Mar. 18 (Wed) - Mid-term deficient grades due
  • Mar. 18-April 8 (Mon-Mon) - Tentative - Continuing student pre-registration for Fall and Summer 2020 and Spring 2021
  • Mar. 25 (Wed) - Last day a student may withdraw from the University (all courses) and be eligible for a partial refund of University charges based on federal regulations and Board of Regents policy
  • April 6 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw from a full semester course or withdraw from the University entirely with no refund of University charges.
  • April 10-12 (Fri-Sun) - Easter Holiday - Please note Easter holiday begins 5:00 p.m. on April 9
  • April 13 (Mon) - 8:00 am Classes Resume
  • May 4-8 (Mon-Fri) - Final examination period
  • May 8 (Fri) - Semester ends
    • Residence halls close at 3:00 p.m.
  • May 9 (Sat) - Commencement, Fieldhouse
  • May 13 (Wed) - Final grades due

Note: Dates and events are subject to change. Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper, or other means as appropriate.

Summer 2020 Schedule

  • May 18 (Mon) - Full 12-week and first 6-week sessions begin
  • May 21 (Thur) - Census date for first 6-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a 6-week class with full refund
  • May 25 (Mon) - Memorial Day – No classes
  • May 26 (Tues) - Census date for full 12-week session
    • Last day to add or drop a full session class with full refund
  • June 3 (Wed) - Last day to withdraw from all first 6-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • June 15 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw from first 6-week summer session; No refund
  • June 26 (Fri) - First 6-week session ends
    • Last day to withdraw from all full 12-week session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • June 29 (Mon) - Second 6-week session begins
  • July 2 (Thur) - Census date for second 6-week session
    • Last day to add a class or drop a class with full refund
  • July 3-4 (Fri-Sat) - Independence Day - no classes
  • July 15 (Wed) - Last day to withdraw from the full 12-week summer session; No refund
    • Last day to withdraw from all second 6-week summer session classes and receive a prorated refund
  • July 27 (Mon) - Last day to withdraw from the second 6-week summer session; No refund
  • Aug 7 (Fri) - Full 12 week and second 6-week sessions end

Note: Dates and events are subject to change. Changes will be communicated to campus via email, campus newspaper, or other means as appropriate.