Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Honorable Students

April 27, 2021

Dakota State students were honored with a number of awards at the 2021 spring Honors Reception, held in a hybrid format on April 20, 2021.

Lowry Scholars
LOWRY SCHOLARS – The V.A. Lowry Scholars named for 2021 are: Tristan Fletcher (front left), Racquel Meyer, and Noah Salmen (back). Not pictured are Samuel Drummond and John Berryhill. This award is based on the student’s scholarly involvement and leadership in their program of study. It is named for V.A. Lowry, who was president of DSU from 1933-1962. He devoted much of his life to creating an environment of academic excellence at this university.
Student teachers
College Student Leaders for 2020-2021 include: Racquel Meyer (back left), Shane Farmer; Jacia Christiansen (front left) and Kruttika Sutrave. Not pictured are Jaclynn Rogers, Angel Gamboa, Anna Koisti, and Samantha Pies. This award honors students in good academic standing who demonstrate outstanding leadership.
Outstanding artists
Outstanding Artists for 2020-2021 are Spencer Raap (left) and Vincent Campbell. This College of Arts and Sciences award recognizes students in good academic standing whose achievements in the DSU performing or studio arts are superior.
Student leaders
Campus Student Leaders for 2020-2021 include: Caleb Nielsen (back left), Noah Guse, Elizabeth Olson; Mark Eisenbraun (front left), Autumn Driscoll, and Annabelle Klosterman. This honor is awarded to students who have been very active on campus and exemplify the highest degree of skill in management, communications, personal relationships, vital involvement and university accomplishments.
Regental awards
Regental Awards were presented to CybHER (accepted by Kanthi Narukonda, front left); Phi Beta Lambda Business Club (accepted by Jacia Christiansen); Lights, Camera, Action Film Club (accepted by Albert Pavlinac and Colin Sabers, back). These awards are presented by the South Dakota Board of Regents to student organizations to recognize meritorious efforts and achievements in Academic Excellence, Community Service, and Organizational Leadership.
Student Employees of the Year
Three Dakota State University students were named Student Employees of the Year. Kanthi Narukonda (left) was named Graduate Assistant of the Year, and Lee Kampshoff is the Student Employee of the Year. Kampshoff has also been named the Student Employee of the Year for the State of South Dakota. Not pictured is off-campus student employee of the year, Xitlali Lopez.
Center of Excellence students
Twenty-four students were honored as graduates of the Center of Excellence. Those pictured include: (back left) Jeremy Ring, a Cyber Operations/Network and Security Administration double major from Norris, S.D.; Tavyn Halland, a Professional Accountancy major from Madison, S.D.; Cody Davelaar, a Computer Science and Math major from Maurice, Iowa; Mason Schmidgall, a Cyber Operations/Network and Security Administration double major from Hancock, Minn. Sanjeev Khadka, a Cyber Operations major from Nepal; and AJ Schoenfelder, a Computer Science major from Parkston, S.D. Graduates must maintain a minimum 3.2 grade point average and complete the Center of Excellence Minor, which includes a major field capstone experience.
Kappa Sigma Iota students
Forty-five students were honored as Members of Kappa Sigma Iota. To be a member of this prestigious organization, a student must have a 3.5 grade point average and must be elected by the current members of the society. Members pictured include: Heather Petersen, a Cyber Leadership and Intelligence major from Rapid City, S.D.; Noah Salmen, an Elementary Education major from Madison, S.D., Marissa Fick, a Business Management major from Luverne, Minn.; and Travis Krakow, an English for New Media major from Flandreau, S.D.

Contact Us

Jane Utecht
Strategic Communications Coordinator
(605) 270-3816

Email Us