Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

DSU recognizes 62 long-time employees

March 9, 2023

Dakota State University has recognized 62 employees for their dedication and commitment to the university at the annual Longevity Reception on March 1.

These 62 individuals represent 834 years of service to the State of South Dakota and DSU; if that number were averaged out it would be over 13 years per employee. This is quite a milestone, given that the national average stay for an employee is currently four years or less in the same job.

Because of the dedication of these employees, President José-Marie Griffiths said, “this virtue makes DSU a nurturing environment, a place that is transforming the lives of people here and in our community and our region every day.”

Deb Roach, DSU’s Interim Director of Human Resources, said these people were “the gifted, talented, dedicated individuals who make Dakota State University what it is.”

Roach thanked everyone for their engagement, commitment, and the unique gifts they bring, which ensure that DSU students receive a quality higher education.


The employees recognized include:


  • Joseph Bottum, Associate Professor

    5 Years
  • Megan Bousquet, Administrative Assistant I

  • Micah Brandsrud, Registration & Transfer Assistant

  • Edward Dennis, Assistant Professor

  • Carrie Graves-Warden, Professional Academic Advisor

  • Rex Groos, Building Maintenance Supervisor

  • Pete Hoesing, Associate Vice President for Research & Economic Development

  • Britney Jencks, Admissions and Financial Aid Functional/Technical Specialist

  • Dylan Johnson, Information Systems Security Officer/Site Security Officer

  • Sharon Johnson, Print Shop Assistant

  • Madison Kaplan, Sports Information Specialist

  • Pamela Lewis, Administrative Assistant I

  • David Link, Program Director

  • Teresa Maier, Sponsored Programs Analyst

  • Brett McKeown, System Administration Manager

  • Marie Millage, Support Desk Administrator

  • Jordan Oberg, Research Engineer II

  • Sarah Olson, Course Materials Specialist

  • Anna Opsahl, Research Engineer II

  • Sue Peterson, Facility Worker

  • Robert Richardson, Instructor

  • Debra Roach, Vice President for Human Resources

  • Wendy Simmermon, Instructor

  • Nicole Steele, Clinical Supervisor of Pre-Service Teachers

  • Nicolas Steilen, Assistant Director of Residence Life

  • Stephen Vassalotti, Head Strength & Conditioning Coach

  • Richard Wicklein, Assistant Professor

  • Harold Winker, Building Maintenance Specialist



10 Years
  • Patti Brooks, Assistant Professor/Director of CAHIT
  • Alicia Entringer, Human Resources Manager
  • Kati Larsen, Professional Academic Advisor
  • Jun Liu, Associate Professor/ Coordinator for Master of Science in Analytics Program
  • Laura Reed, Financial Aid and Scholarship Advisor
  • Cody Welu, Assistant Professor
  • Joel Wohnoutka, Executive Director of Applied Research Lab



  • Tory Bickett, Admissions Operations Specialist
    15 Years
  • Addie Borah, Academic Advisor
  • Nicole Bowen, Director of the Counseling Center
  • Jill Corbin, Scholarship Coordinator
  • Lori Engebretson, Retention Specialist
  • Mary Francis, Director of the Karl Mundt Library
  • Anne Hauglid, Administrative Assistant I
  • Jill Ruhd, Director of Development
  • Linda Williams, Facilities Services Supervisor I



  • Vickie Bird, Facility worker
    20 Years
  • Mandy Hendrix, Director of Student Engagement and Leadership
  • Kurt Kemper, Professor and General Beadle Honors Program Director
  • Michael Roach, Assistant Professor
  • Brent Van Aartsen, Chief Technology Officer



  • Denise Grayson, Director of Financial Aid



  • Kathryn Callies, Registrar
    30 Years
  • Amy Crissinger, Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management
  • Dian Doblar, Parking Attendant/Groundskeeper
  • Amy Dockendorf, Controller
  • Gabe Mydland, Associate Professor
  • Shelly Nelson, Graphic Designer



  • Scott Allbee, Systems Integration Engineer
    35 Years
  • Dorine Bennett, Dean, College of Business & Information Systems
  • Roxie Draper, Facility Worker
  • Kathy Engbrecht, Instructor/Retention Specialist



  • Gary Garner, Head Men’s Basketball Coach
    Coach Garner - Retiring

Contact Us

Jane Utecht
Strategic Communications Coordinator
(605) 270-3816

Email Us