Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees


To governance, the University establishes various committees that represent all of the academic units. All these committees have their general mission statement that state their purpose, provenance, and their accountability.

 Governing bodies

  • General Faculty
  • Civil Service Council
  • Non-Faculty Employee Council
  • Student Association Senate

Faculty standing committees

  • Academic Integrity Board
  • Curriculum Committee
  • General Activity Fund Allocations Committee
  • Library Committee

Shared governance committee

  • Rich Avery, Wendy Romero = A&S

  • Tom Halverson, Kyle Cronin = Beacom

  • Katie Anderson, Mark Geary = Education

  • Omar El-Gayar, Cheri Noteboom = BIS

  • Jennifer Walz = CSA

  • Mandy Parpart = NFE

  • Amy Crissinger, Dick Hanson = Cabinet

Advisory councils

  • Presidents Council
  • Academic Council
  • Implementation Council

Institutionally established committees

  • Assessment Coordinating Committee
  • Athletic Committee
  • Barrier-Free Learning Committee
  • Bookstore Users Committee
  • Caring Committee
  • Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) Leadership Committee
  • Diversity Committee
  • Faculty Development Committee
  • Financial Aid Satisfactory Academic Progress Committee
  • Graduate Council
  • Human Subjects Committee (Institutional Review Board)
  • Parking Committee
  • Risk Management Committee
  • Professional Education Council (PEC)
  • Scholarship Committee
  • Student Admissions Committee
  • Student Success Committee
  • University Code Of Conduct Board
  • University Research Committee
  • University Club Funding Committee

Full Committee Listing