Dakota State University students walking around campus

Preparation + opportunity = success

That's the DSU equation. We're a four-year university with nationally recognized programs, cutting-edge facilities, and the brightest thinkers. But we're also a tight-knit, inclusive community. Small class sizes mean hands-on training and individualized attention. All this with an affordable, public school price that's among the best values in the region.

Majors & Degrees

Past Faculty Awards

Past Faculty Awards The Alexander "Sandy" Davidson Award for Excellence in Advising

2023 Dr. Chris Olson
2022 Dr. William Sewell
2021 Dr. Tom Halverson
2020 Dr. Kyle Cronin
2019 Dr. David Bishop
2018 Dr. Gabe Mydland
2017 Dr. Viki Johnson
2016 Dr. Stephen Krebsbach
2015 Mr. Rob Honomichl
2014 Dr. Stacey Berry
2013 Dr. Gale Wiedow
2012 Dr. Barbara Szczerbinska
2011 Ms. Kathy Engbrecht
2010 Dr. Donna Hazelwood
2009 Dr. Gabe Mydland
2008 Dr. Deana Hueners-Nelson
2007 Dr. Rick Puetz 2006 Dr. Don Wiken

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research

2023 Dr. Omar El-Gayar
2022 Dr. Andrew Sathoff
2021 Dr. Kurt Kemper
2020 Dr. David Zeng
2019 Dr. Cherie Noteboom
2018 Dr. Ashley Podhradsky
2017 Dr. Jun Liu
2016 Dr. Michael Gaylor
2015 Dr. Yong Wang
2014 Mr. Giles Timms
2013 Dr. Surendra Sarnikar
2012 Dr. Kristel Bakker
2011 Dr. Josh Pauli
2010 Dr. Amit Deokar
2009 Dr. Kevin Streff
2008 Dr. Xinwen Fu
2007 Dr. Rich Avery 2006 Dr. Mark Hawkes

The DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service

2023 Dr. Kyle Cronin
2022 Dr. Jack Walters
2021 Dr. Kevin Smith
2020 Dr. Michael Roach
2019 Dr. Deb Tech
2018 Dr. Pamela Rowland
2017 Dr. Jennifer Nash
2016 Ms. Sandy Champion
2015 Dr. Kevin Krahenbuhl
2014 Dr. John Nelson
2013 Ms. Kelly MacLeod
2012 Dr. Gale Wiedow
2011 Dr. Glenn Berman
2010 Dr. Jennifer Gross
2009 Dr. Maureen Murphy
2008 Dr. Jack Walters
2007 Dr. Vicki Sterling
2006 Dr. Judy Dittman

The Ernest M. Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching

2023 Dr. Mark Spanier
2022 Mr. Andrew Kramer
2021 Ms. Kindra Schneider
2020 Dr. Austin O'Brien
2019 Ms. Angela Behrends
2018 Dr. Kevin Smith
2017 Dr. Jeff Howard
2016 Mr. Michael Lynch
2015 Dr. Mark Hawkes
2014 Dr. Pat Engebretson
2013 Dr. Deb Tech
2012 Dr. Tom Jones
2011 Dr. Vicki Sterling
2010 Dr. Christopher Olson
2009 Dr. Dale Droge
2008 Dr. Justin Blessinger
2007 Dr. Nancy Moose
2006 Dr. Dan Weinstein